IELTS essay Task 2. English as a global language. Advantages overweight the disadvantages? 250words

The advantages of English spreading as a global language will continue overweight the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

the global communication tool

Nowadays, learning English is one of the most popular practices among Young people. Some people hold the opinion that English should be the language every people must speak. With the fast increase of this language use in the world, seems obvious that its benefits overweight the drawbacks. From my perspective, this idea is not completely accurate owing to the consequences this could have for society.

On the positive side, the implement of English as the global language for fields such as business, university studies, research, and science has improved the communication and exchange of information. Scientists from all over the world are publishing their studies and papers in English and thus their research are reaching most people around the globe. Trade transactions among executives from different lands have been empowered by the Shakespeare language settled as the primary language in this sector.

On the other hand, this positioning of English as the number one peaking language these days has significant consequences for several professions. Foreign language professional for instance French, Spanish, Korean or Chinese teachers will become rare as well as foreign language studies will lose relevance in the future, narrowing the variety of university programs. In addition, diversity among countries will be affected by this one-language trend. Non-English-speaker nations will be forced to switch languages and will lose their identity in language matters.

To conclude, despite the fact that English as a global language is constantly increasing due to the advantages of this tendency, the negative side should not be dismiss. An appropriate balance between both sides could be the proper approach to deal with this phenomenon.