IELTS: not enough of courtesy is demonstrated toward elderly people (reasons, problems in society)

respect to older people

Hi, everyone! I'm preparing on my own for IELTS academic and I have trouble regarding writing, as there is no one to provide me with feedback. I would appreciate it if you gave a look to my essay and make some comments on it :)

At present, numerous nations do not treat the elderly with the required respect. In my opinion, there are certain factors which have contributed to this situation, as well as significant consequences for society as a whole.

A main cause of disrespect towards seniors is that they are incapable of coping with the rapid changes which occur throughout the world. In other words, older people think in a more conservative way than the youth and unable to understand the meaning of progress and modernisation. For instance, the elderly have trouble handling technological devices, such as computers and mobile phones, as they have not been taught how to do so. Consequently, young people have neither the patience nor the willingness to introduce them to their own value system, thus older people are not respected enough.

For this reason, a major effect would be the isolation and marginalisation of the elderly. Namely, in spite of the fact that they are typically members of this society, they do not get the chance to provide the rest of its members with precious knowledge and advice. For example, older people are considered outdated by the youth for highly valuing the simple things in life, such as food, and they do not try to find the meaning behind their words. Therefore, seniors end up in nursing homes, as they cannot be taken care of, demonstrating that the older ones do not fit in a modern society.

In conclusion, older people are disrespected due to lack of understanding by the younger ones, for they act based on different values, resulting in the elderly being on the sidelines.