IELTS Essay Task 2: entertaining and educational functions of Museums

TOPIC: Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate.

Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

ANSWER:

People sometimes have different views on the role of museums. While there is an opinion that they are a means of entertainment, I believe it is also involved with education.

On the one hand, tourists often go to visit museums for entertainment purposes. Particularly, they are often voted as the funniest destinations in a country. Enjoying the historical and peaceful atmosphere there can be a good way to reduce stress which is caused from hard working days. Besides, there are many traditional games for visitors to play. In Ethnic Museum in Vietnam, for instance, people always feel comfortable playing interesting games such as bag jumping, pillars walking and many more. These are some of the main reasons why people enjoy visiting museums.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that museums may broaden people's horizons. Information about artefacts, old furnitures and historical photos may help them know more about the country's history and glorious victories. All these documentaries can be helpful for their works and researches.Moreover, visiting museumsalso boost the students' motivation in learning and make them boast of their nation. Therefore, they will study harder in order to contribute their knowledge and efforts to the country's development as people in the past did.

For the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that good museums should have entertaining as well as educational functions so that they are more fun and attracting to both residents and foreign tourists.