Entertainment and sport or healthcare and education

Some people say that the government should not put money on building theatres and sports stadiums. Others argue that they should spend more money on medical care and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

investing in art, sport, medical care or education

People have different views about where areas the authority should invest in. While there are some benefits of allocating money for healthcare and education, I would argue that it is better for the government to pour much money into building theatres and sports stadiums.

On one hand, medical care and education are beneficial to some extent. Firstly, since the number of diseases is increasing rapidly, the government should invest money in healthcare. For example, wealthy nations provide financial support to medicine companies to research and create a new vaccine which can prevent the outbreak of Ebola. This helps improve living standards of its people. Secondly, because the government is responsible for taking care of its citizens, they should offer high-quality education to all individuals. For instance, higher education should be either free or affordable for all those who chose to pursue a university degree. This may greatly contribute to improving the quality of workforce.

On the other hand, I believe that erecting theatres and sports facilities is a better choice option. First, threatres can provide much social, cultural and historical knowledge for people. In Vietnam, for example, artists often perform plays that render the battles of our ancestors fighting against foreign invaders over the past 4000 years. This helps young generations to cultivate patriotism and national pride. Additionally, providing sports facilities such as tennis courts and football stadiums may to encourage more people to take up sports and have a healthy lifestyle. As a result, people can improve their health and build up resistance to disease.

In conclusion, while investing money in medical care and education has some advantages, I believe that theatres and sports stadiums play a much more important role.