IELTS Task 2 - Environment (Agree/Disagree) - Electric cars vs fossil fuel burning cars

Hi everyone, I am aiming for band 7+ in writing, so I have practiced a few topics and uploaded to this forum, thanks so much for your time and assistance!

All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that primarily vehicles powered by nonrenewable fuel sources, namely petroleum and diesel oil, should be replaced by electric cars. Given that electric cars are more environmentally-friendly and that they can tackle the pollution issue, I strongly agree with this statement.

Instead of driving the traditional fuel automobiles, we can pose less harm to the environment by driving electric cars. In other words, this will emit less chemical gas which is pernicious to the Ozone Layer and contributes to global warming. Many people have been suffering from climate change and its knock-on effects, such as drought and famine. Although driving automobiles with renewable energy sources like electric cars is not a silver bullet to the deteriorating climate problem, it is irrefutable that it can help relieve the situation, at least to a certain extent.

On the other hand, restraining traditional cars can curb air pollution issues. The burning of fossil fuels in these cars produces detrimental chemicals which are the culprit of air pollution in many cities. The respiratory system of humans can be seriously harmed by these air pollutants, deterring some people from staying in metropolises. This is exemplified by the growing number of inhabitants in big cities, especially for those with respiratory problems such as asthma, choosing to migrate to the outskirts in recent decades.

In conclusion, the inhibition of fossil-fuel-burning cars can be conducive to both the environment and our health. If governments determined to limit the usage of all these cars and encourage driving electric cars, the world would be a better place to live in.