TOEFL: environment issues are far too difficult for ordinary people to comprehend

Agree or disagree: because environmentalist issues are very complex, indivisuals can do nothing about them on their own.

NOTE: This is a TOEFL essay; an essay limited to 30 minutes. I admit I have exceeded the time limit to an estimated 5 min. I spent too much time pondering on the hook of my intro. Please let me know if I can fix anything or if I said unnecessary sentences. Thank you!

When the industrial revolution took place back in the 1800's, many workers were oblivious to what would happen to the atmosphere if they continued to emit pollution in the air. This neglect of science evolved to the great global warming dilemma the present environmentalists face these days. However, the public does not understand the situation entirely just like the workers back in the 1800's because the complexness of science. Despite the complexness of environmental issues, individuals can nevertheless, mitigate the whole problem even with the most trivial actions such as conserving energy or donating and supporting green organizations.

Environmental issues are indeed intricate and delicate to the point how years of studies are required to fully understand the logic and science behind these issues. However, individuals do not necessarily have to understand the situation to alleviate the issue. Even the simplest actions of turning off an unused lamp or recycling plastic bags can grow to create a tremendous change to global warming and excessive waste. To be specific, if the people of a whole country conserve energy and recycle, the outcome is clean air for both nature and people to enjoy and stable economy without overusing recyclable objects. Now imagine the colossal impact if the whole world was to preserve energy and recycle. Environmentalists will no longer have to plan deeper strides to prevent toxic emissions from factories or decaying earth from abundant garbage. In addition, the world will remain clean for nature and mankind to prosper together. This ideal world dreamed from environmentalists can be turned to reality if we, as residents of Earth, cooperate with and sacrifice for each other. Although the environment issues are beyond comprehension for the majority of people, this majority group can trigger a humongous change even with the most trivial act like conserving energy or reusing recyclable objects.

In addition, individuals can support green organizations fighting against propaganda to preserve Earth by donating or spreading word about environment issues to others. Organizations like Greenpeace are currently on the move to protect the world from corrupted governments ignoring their demands on abating emissions. In order to complete this quest, organizations require financial support which is where individuals come in. Even if a single man were to donate one dollar, an elementary school containing 200 children can profoundly support any organizations and even contribute the war against pollution. Also, by spreading word of environment issues, more people would be aware of it and thus refrain from buying surpluses of environmentally harmful products and avert to purchasing eco-friendly products. In effect, having the public aware of environmental issues can alter the market to benefit assiduous environmentalist battling arduously against pollution and waste. Thus, by supporting these organizations by donation and cautioning others, individuals can make a significant impact on the environment without knowing the complexity behind these issues.

In conclusion, environment issues are far too difficult for ordinary people to comprehend, but nevertheless, this does not necessarily mean that these individuals are completely useless. By conserving energy as a whole world and supporting environmental organizations, they can make the greatest impact that can totally rejuvenate the world we live in now.

(526)