IELTS Task 2: Environment - Problems and Solutions

Hi everyone. I am practicing writing to score around 7.0. I look forward to your comments and correction. Many thanks!

Task:

Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment.

What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Over the past decade, environmental issues have become a hotly debated topic among others since people constantly do harm to our living place. This essay will mention some ways which threaten our environment and some actions that countries and their citizens could take to tackle those issues.

In order to achieve the convenience that human beings have today, we have made good use of the mainly natural resources which are fossil fuels. However, consuming coal, oil, gas for the world production and transportation has released a great amount of emissions, which cause air pollution and global warming. In addition, the availability of all kinds of products also encourages people to consume more, which lead to the overproduction of waste.

Governments could certainly help improve this situation. The public transportation system should be facilitated and upgraded to be convenient, which will help attract much more people using it. When a lot of people use the public transport, the burden on the environment will be decreased. In terms of managing waste, more waste processing facilities should be built to effectively handle the waste.

Each person can also join hands to save the environment by trying to use public transport like subway, bus or simply sharing vehicles with friends or neighbors. We could bring our own bags when going shopping and try to recycle as much as possible. Nowadays, a lot of stores provide consumers with sustainable packaging such as biodegradable or cloth bags and straws made from paper, wood or even flour.

In conclusion, it is vital that each of us makes effort to protect our environment in every day activities.