IELTS: Is environmental damage evitable if a country is developing?

Pleas help me to correct and improve this essay. Thanks in advance.

Topic: Pollution and environmental damage are inevitable results when a country is developing and growing its wealth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true to say that the global warming, which is one of the main issues these days, is caused by pollution and other environmental damage. Some people hold the belief that the impacts on the environment cannot be avoided when a nation is getting richer and deriving.

While a country is improving its economy, a large sum of money will be invested in industries. Therefore, many trees will be cut as more land is needed to build houses, factories and to cultivate crops. In fact, cutting down trees can damage the environment severely because trees are lungs of the earth. Moreover, as a nation is getting wealthier, more people travel to other countries or places by airplanes and drive their own cars instead of using the public transports such as buses and trains. As a result, air pollution happens because it is caused by cars and airplanes. In addition, as people in a rich country generally have a desire to keep up with new and modern things, they throw out the old ones, which are still usable. Consequently, the amount of rubbish in the world will increase dramatically.

Although environmental problems are serious, there are several solutions to solve them. Firstly, the government has to educate their people about pollution and environmental damage, so as to prevent further harm to the environment. Secondly, the government must limit the number of trees that can be cut and they have to grow more trees in the park and along the roads.or streets. Additionally, people should use various types of public transports or walk from one place to another, in order to reduce air pollution. Also, the government ought to improve the quality of public transports by making them more comfortable and more affordable, so people will enjoy using them. Furthermore, citizens and the government must have a recycling programme by recycle glass, paper, cans and other recyclable materials. In this way, the amount of rubbish will decline.

Taking everything into account, I strongly believe that pollution and environmental damage is avoidable if both the government and people co-operate and take parts in protecting the environment. As soon as all these solutions are put into actions, environmental problems will be solved, no matter how much a country is developing and growing its wealth.