IELTS WRITING TASK 2 (Environmental problems from human harmful activities)

Some human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species.

Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem while others think effective measures can be taken to improve this situation.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, it is very clear to see the impact of human activities on flora and fauna. Although the government have taken measures to improve the matter, there some believe that it is too late to reverse the consequences. But in my point of view, living creatures still could be saved, and we need to take effective remedies to make that happen.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that humans have been negatively affecting the ecosystem for a long time. Thousands of trees have been cut down by us for buildings, skyscrapers, and roads,..., the animals are being hunted to serve human interests, which leads to the extinction of some species. So, it is easy to understand why some people have a negative view of this problem. In fact, Vietnam used to have a large number of tigers but in recent years, there are only very few tigers still alive and most of them are being cared in nature conservation areas.

On the other hand, it is not impossible to improve this issue. I firmly believe that there are a lot of things governments and individuals are capable of dealing with this. The authorities have taken measures to minimize anthropogenic activities, more and more movements to fight against harmful activities that impact the environment. For example, in Vietnam, due to improved public awareness, the forest cover ratio has increased from 38,7% in 2008 to 42% in 2020.

In conclusion, this topic causes a lot of arguments but I personally think that we need to be responsibility to protect the only planet we have.