IELTS Task - Essay about "Environmental problems... who should take care of it?"

dealing with environmental pollution

Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People who think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale are right to a great extent because global warming is an environmental hazard whose effects are faced by the entire planet and not just one nation. Nations should join hands together in this venture and take measures to stop polluting the Earth's land and waters. The rising temperatures have been witnessed all over the world and is a cause of concern that needs countries to work towards solving the issue together. People in support of global eradication of environmental issues think it's the only way to key to having a clean, green planet.

The other group of people is of the opinion that environmental concerns should be met nationally. Every country has its own set of environmental issues. One country might be faced with the problem of extremely polluted air and dying lakes and rivers, while another's main cause of concern might be rising temperatures, so their approach to dealing with their concerns would also be different.

While finding a solution on a national scale seems to be a more practical approach that makes things more possible to work out, it must be understood that environmental issue is not a problem limited to one country. There are countries who have zero carbon footprint like Bhutan, but that doesn't imply that they are free from the effects of global warming and other environmental issues. Countries suffering from severe pollution and countries having cleaner air are both faced more or less by the effects of global warming. Therefore, I am in favour of getting rid of pollution and dealing with environmental concerns on a global scale.