IELTS TASK 2: environmental topic, fossil fuels / other forms of energy

Topic:

fossil fuels are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. is it a postive or negative development?

Fossil Fuels vs Alternative Energy Sources

The consumption of fossil flues witnesses a dramatic increase in many parts of the world, while renewable clean energy sources are also applied in some advanced countries. I am supportive of the view that the utilization of renewable energy has a positive impact on environment and people's lives.

First of all, over-consumption of fossil resources can pollute and destroy local ecosystem. These valuable fossil fuels will be irreplaceable if they are depleted. Meanwhile enormous disasters, such as floods, sand storms and acid rain, can occur frequently, since the balance of ecosystem has been destroyed during fossil fuel exploration and development.

Furthermore, the generation of fossil flues can have an adverse impact on people's living standard, especially the healthy condition. The toxin released from fossil flues can pose a severe threat on people's health, even damaging life. In China, for instance, citizens today have to wear mask when they are outside, as the result of contamination particle generated from fossil fuels.

In contrast, the popularity of renewable energy can either satisfy people's daily demands or mitigate the environment impact caused by human activities. Wind power, solar panels and hydroelectric power are unlikely to generate toxic gas and emit pollutant and rather cheap, so the optimal use of such alternatives is more likely to accelerate social development in a sustainable way.

In conclusion, replacing fossil fuels with other forms of energy is undoubtedly a positive revolution, since such improvement can minimize pollution to a large extent, and achieve environmentally friendly in a practical way.