Ielts2 - The equal amount of money to both medical research and the protection of environment

Please help me review my essay. Thank you very much!

GOVERNMENT SHOULD SPEND MORE MONEY ON MEDICAL RESEARCH TO PROTECT CITIZENS' HEALTH RATHER THAN ON PROTECTING THE ENVIRONMENT.

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is said that government funding for the care of habitants' health should give preference to medical research over the protection of environment. From my opinion, I disagree with this view and would argue that people's health would be completely protected if government allocates the equal amount of money to both medical research and the protection of environment.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons why government should spend money on medical research. Firstly, these days, there is an increase in human illnesses are caused by the infection with new virus species that people do not have not a clue about them, of which consequences could be unpredictable and unprecedented. For example, the covid-19 pandemic caused by novel coronavirus took a heavy toll on not only millions of people's health all over the world but also the global economy. Therefore, investing public money in medical research for the discovery of timely vaccines and cures for this new coronavirus disease is urgent in order for the situation not to worsen infinitely. Secondly, many dangerous diseases such as cancers, or strokes cause high death toll but there still fails to have optimal methods or effective drugs for the treatment of these illnesses. As a result, it is necessary to conduct more medical research on these diseases to improve human well-being and increase life expectancy of people.

On the other hand, maintaining environmental sustainability should also be set the same government budget as medical research. It is evident that the environmental pollution is considered as the major culprit which poses a serious threat to people's health since a vast number of diseases of people results from living in polluted surroundings. For example, air or water pollution could lead to long-term health problems such as cancers, cardiovascular, or respiratory illness. Consequently, financing public money to the protection of environment such as developing waste treatment technology or conducting environmental awareness campaigns contributes to reducing the negative impacts of environmental pollution on people's health.

In conclusion, I think that both medical research and the protection of environment play an equally important role in protecting citizens' health, and government should spend the equal budget on both of them.