Essay on equal gender in university

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gender equality is standard in the modern world. Today, man and woman is equal in laws, even woman has more protection. But it is unreasonable gender equality must be carried out in everything. As an example, equal numbers of male and female students in every subject in the university is unable to accept. Student performance and preference is reasons.

Firstly, universities usually base on student performance in pre-university like high school to enroll new students. Therefore, numbers of male and female in subjects is not always equal. If university tries to balance rate of sex, this will lead to accept students who do not meet the requirements. For this reason, educational environment of university will be affected. Number is what university cares about, not quality.

Secondly, the interest level in a specific subject might be very high for mal and low for female or reserve. For a sample, three male and twenty female students apply for dance subject, it may be unfair if we take three boys and three girls in that class for satisfying gender equality, maybe there are students who have more talent than male students in seventeen remaining female students. Always obeying equal gender is like quota in trading, this limits performance of students.

In conclusion, gender equality is not equal numbers of male and female. In a class, it is good if we balance amount of male and female but not in every class and every subject. There are particular cases, arranging numbers of male and female students in a subject should be flexible.