IELTS - Equal numbers of boys and girls in every course of an university?

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

girls and boys should be treated equally during education

It is true to argue that girls and boys should be treated equally in every fields of life. However, I totally disagree with the opinion that there should be equal entries to every course offered by a university to the two genders.

On the one hand, I believe that a university accepting the same number of boys and girls to every subject is an ideal place for students to study. This is an effective way of minimizing the gender gaps and showing overwhelming dominance in neither of the genders in the academic fields. Apparently, it is absurd to reject a female student with the highest placement to a course and replace her with a boy with a lower entrance score or less qualifications. By taking part in any courses that they are interested in, students will surely have more chances to pursue their dreams, even in specialist fields that the society has long believed that only men or women could do.

On the other hand, I also believe that it is impractical for schools to accept the same number of male and female students to some specific courses. For example, it is wildly unreasonable to expect the nursing course, which attract girls more than boys, to have half of its students male, and vice versa in the astronomy and engineering courses. In addition, if an university happened to be forced to lower its entrance score to hire enough students for a course, it reputation might be badly damaged and its teaching programs would be dramatically changed, which directly affect the way our whole teaching system has been working for centuries.

In conclusion, although the opinion of allowing the same number of boys and girls to take part in every subject seems to be ideal, it is so unrealistic and unlikely to be taken into consideration by universities in the near future.

I know that my writing is too long (311 words) but I have no ideas which part to cut.

Also, I really appreciate your comments on what my essay lacks in and what I can do to improve.