IELTS TASK 2: equal opportunities and rights of studying and selecting courses at school

TOPIC:

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people have equal opportunities and enjoy the rights of studying and selecting courses at school. Although I agree with the view of gender equality, I disagree with the notion that academic institutions receive a balanced number of boy and girl students in each course of study in schools. The reasons will be explained in the following essay.

The main reason why I disagree with the view due to the fact that it is unrealistic. Each subject itself attracts different gender pupils. For example, female students are more interested in literature, while male students are more likely to select engineering as their major at universities. As students have distinct interests, which result in many courses occupying different gender ratios. This means that selecting subject matters is linked to a personal preference.

Furthermore, it against the rights of people receiving education. Educators should not choose students by their genders but by their talent. Otherwise, pupils might be required to study a subject which is not suitable for them. To illustrate, if a female student reaches the score to study mechanical engineering, it would be a mistake to refuse her application due to exceeding the female student numbers in the faculty. An impractical measure would affect universities to select candidates with potential talent, consequently, it also affects students' rights of learning.

In conclusion, despite having equal numbers of male and female students in every course might fulfill the belief of gender equality, both genders have diverse views when it comes to making a choice for their future studies. Thus, I believe it is hard to apply in the real world. (268 words)