TOEFL: It is essential to control how much time you spent watching TV or movies

Toefl essay - How do movies or television influence people's behavior? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

How far can television and movies influence the human behavior? It is know that the number of TV viewers is increasing as the same way as the amount of hours spent watching it. Children and adults believe that it is a wonderful entertainment, but they must have in mind this is a powerful mean of communication, which can affect their way of thinking and acting.

Ideal bodies are exposed every day on TV shows and movies; perfect bodies that many people dream about having the same. How much money people are expending to have lips like Angelina Jolie? Nowadays, it is common having people going to a surgeon and asking to have the same characteristics of their favorite actor or actress.

Not only this is a problem, but also people who spent too much time in front of the TV, known as a "couch-potato". Consequently, they do not have a healthy life, for instance, they would prefer to watch their favorite show instead of going to the gym or walking on the park. Moreover, they would rather order fast food than spend time cooking, because this way they can see a movie.

Another manner it affects people is many creative and appealing advertisements can grab viewers' attention and incite them to buy products, even though they do not need it. For example, woman who are crazy about makeup, if they see one pretty actress using a new lipstick, they will buy although they already have diverse colors of lipstick.

In conclusion, so many ways television can badly influence people, for that reason it is essential to control how much time you spent watching TV or movies, also know how it can affect your mind.