IELTS TASK 2 - THE MOST ESSENTIAL DISCOVERY

The internet is probably the most significant invention of the last 30 years. Without it, our lives would be completely different.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last three decades, there have been a lot of inventions, but internet is perhaps the most essential discovery which has changed the way of people lives completely. It is true that internet has helped people to improve their lives. However, I would argue that this immerse invention certainly has caused dire effects such us increase crime rate and unhealthy lifestyle.

The emergence of Internet has made alteration in the world especially for improving human life. Using internet can support their activities and make them faster or easier to be done. For example, when people have to inform their relatives or friends about important news, they do not need to meet them in the home. By using email or social networks, they are able to contact them more efficiently. Therefore, it proves that citizens will have more time and be able to do the other important activities.

Aside from the merit, the Internet brings more problems for society. Firstly, human lacks of physical activities which can cause unhealthy lifestyle. Evidence of this can be seen when teenagers just spend their day in front of computers to browse. In addition, there is insecurity feeling since internet provides place to do crimes. Some perpetrators nowadays are able to commit any crimes in internet such us hijacking or psychological treat which can brings harmful effects for the users.

To sum up, it is clear to me that although internet upgrades human live, the rising of crime rate and poor lifestyle are becoming serious problems of it. The right steps must be taken by responsible parties to reduce the impact.