Evaluating the opinion that increasing petrol's price would solve traffic and pollution problems

IELTS writing task 2 - petrol price

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Growing traffic and pollution are serious problems nowadays. Personally, I completely disagree with the opinion that increasing petrol's price would solve those problems and believe that other measures would be more constructive.

To begin with, there are two reasons why I would argue against increasing price of petrol. Firstly, when the petrol's price is higher, people will start using less petrol and therefore, this energy industry will be affected. Because of this, the economy of many countries might struggle due to the fact that petrol is an important industry in many nations. For example, middle east countries might have huge loss if people stop using petrol since petrol is their most important export industry. Secondly, increasing petrol price will affect citizens' lives and raise living expenses. For example, in my country, people use petrol to cook food and therefore, food price will be increased.

In my view, there are some alternatives that are more effective than raising petrol cost. The first solution is investing more in public transportation and infrastructure. For example, governments could open new bus routes to meet people's demand of travelling and commuting, which will help reducing cars on road and greenhouse gas emissions. Another solution is encouraging people to work from home through internet. This will reduce the numbers of commuters and avoid traffic jams at rush hours.

In conclusion, I disagree with the idea of increasing petrol price to solve traffic or pollution problems and believe other measures such as public transportation and home working will be more beneficial.