IELTS - Everyone should become vegetarian because meat not guarantees a healthy diet.

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

In this day and age, the topic of vegetarianism is an issue of considerable concern. While I accept that this trend can help people live healthily, I would argue that meat is a necessary factor for people's physical health.

Those who are in favour of being vegetarian point to some clear benefits. It cannot be denied that there are a variety of vegetables and fruits which provide enough nutrition to people's body. For instance, potatoes and beans can bring enough calories in a meal instead of having more meat. Additionally, some fruits contain vitamins which is significantly beneficial for people's health and this can help to avoid illness. Regarding the ethical part, some people choose not to eat meat because they don't believe in killing animals for food when there are other ways to meet their nutrition needs. As a result, consuming meat has become less necessary.

There is, however, room for flexibility in the sense that meat is the key factor in people's meals. It is vital to understand that meat is a lucrative source of protein which is essential to building muscle mass. For example, athletes should not be vegetarian because they have to practice many heavy exercises so they need to consume meat which supply enough nutrient and calories for their muscles. One should be mentioned that it is unadvisible for children to become vegetarian as they are in the period of growing up and they have to eat various types of food to develop physically.

In conclusion, although being a vegetarian has a huge number of benefits, having some meat in daily meals has some plus points that cannot be denied.