IELTS essay: Should everyone follow a vegetarianism diet?

it is not necessary to eat meat to be healthy

Everyone should follow a vegetarianism diet because it is not necessary to eat meat to be healthy.

Do you agree or disagree?

Vegetarianism has been praised by social media as a must-do for everyone. They claim that such a diet can provide sufficient nutrients for the body. However, I am more convinced of the opposite site and this essay will explain why.

For a start, vegetarianism is considered to be unnatural. Archaeological evidence shows that eating meat is essential for human revolution for 2.3 million years. Since we are proved to be superior in the natural food chain, it would be illogical if we were restricted to being herbivores.

Secondly, a meat-free diet does not provide sufficient nutrients for human, In a 2003 study published by American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, the ratio of vegetarian people suffering from vitamin B12 deficiency is 2 in 3, while that of meat eaters is 1 in 20. On top of that, vegetarians are shown to have a higher chance of anxiety and depression.

Thirdly, vegetarianism is less practical in the regions where fresh plants are hard to grow or purchase. For example, in tundra regions, the tree growth is hindered by low temperature and short growing seasons, so it would be less likely for people there to survive on vegetarian diets. Moreover, the practice of abstaining from meat requires alternative sources of nutrients and developed nutrition science, which is less practical for those from developing countries.

In conclusion, the claim of a healthy vegetarian diet is still far from reality and the choice of food should remain as fundamental liberty of humans.