This essay will examine the explanation why the crime rate is enhancing and suggest some ways out.

Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Enhancement of crime has been attracted many parties in the world either the ruler or academician. This essay will examine the explanation why the crime rate is enhancing and suggest some ways out.

Firstly, economical factor. As we see today, the condition of Indonesia whose economic slump caused much affliction for the people. For instance, in recent decades, the number of unemployment is happening everywhere, due to lack of skills or education of a person or due to very limited job opportunities. Because of these reasons, many people taking shortcuts to get money for basic needs.

Secondly, socio-cultural factor. The number of disputes and killings as a result of the conflict within the community. In the social point of view, it can be seen from the jealousy because of the social status that makes a person having the low social status ready to take a serious risk by purloining car or jewelry or the looting of the shops which is owned by the rich man.

Thirdly, political factor. Crimes are also not free from political interference by the state. For example, the case of Munir assassination who died on a plane on a flight to Amsterdam, Netherlands in 2004. Munir was one of human rights activist concerning to criticize the government, in particular, human right issues. The Munir murder has relevance with the intelligence works as mentioned by the judge in the court.

Hence, there are several measures to address these problems. Firstly, the police role. The role of the police in combating crime that should be increased via efforts of protection to maintain security. For example, today, the police should conduct raids or checks on dangerous items such as weapons and firearms in the place of criminal potency. Secondly, the role of the state. In the fight against crime or address crime, each measure not only comes from the efforts of the police alone, but also the government should involve in maintaining security in the society.

Thirdly, the role of religious leaders. For example, in recent decades, the religious leaders have a significant role to keep the peace of the world and to reduce the rate of crime. The religious leader's efforts to solve the problem of crime in Indonesia can be realized by providing education to the whole society through religious lectures.

To conclude, I strongly believe although crime has increased, but there are measures to address this issue by involving a number of components. I hope the government, academician, or individual can concern the number of steps as mentioned above.