This essay will examine the motives why people commit a crime and discuss some possible solutions

Topic :

Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

The predominant problem the world face these day is the gradual increment of the crime rate. Several factors become the excuse why the delinquency rate increases. This essay will examine the motives why people commit a crime and discuss some possible solutions to tackle the rise in criminal activity.

The main causes that lead people commit a crime, mostly, because of their social environment and the people they associate with. The social environment, especially the environment they grew up in, take a big role in influencing a person to do criminal activities. Taking the youngsters in Argentina as an example, the Argentina youngsters are growing up surrounded by people doing vice activities will drift them into major delinquencies such as using drugs and violent crimes. The poverty also becomes the chief cause of criminal activities. The poverty in Indonesia, for instance, which increases time-to-time makes the poor do illegal activities such as pickpocketing, fraud, and robbery in order to fulfil their daily urges. Ultimately, the reason people commit a crimes is likely a combination of many different individual situations.

Nevertheless, there are several ways to prevent the increment of the crime rate, or at least reduce its probability. Firstly, the government need to reduce the poverty by giving a proper education to the poor for free. A good education will give them a chance to get a proper job or at least with a better education they can open their own vacancy. Providing more jobs will also reduce the possibility of the criminality. Designing a strict rule in a bad environment, giving severe punishment such as imprison them who commit more serious criminal offences, and intensifying the secure in some places can also prevent the criminal activities.

To conclude, even though many different factors influence people to commit crimes but both governments and individuals can take many steps to combat crimes. If governments and individuals cooperate each other, the increment of the crime rate can be prevented.