Task 2: Example 17: Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. Agree or not?

Task 2: Example 17: Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

foreign language knowledge is a must!

It is arguable whether or not students should be required to learn foreign languages by educational institutions. From my perspective, i completely agree with this view.

First of all, it is belived that students can derive great benefits from learning other languages. For example, English is deemed to be the most prevalent language in the world, thus if we have understanding of it, we will gain more chances to communicate with foriegners, and narrow the gap between 2 countries. Beside, it is apparent fact that people who tend to have knowledge of foreign languages could be prioritized and obtained a well-paid job, even the job progression in many companies because those people are able to meet the demand for communication with other nations. For this reason, the option of learning overseas languages is of importance for people in globalised world.

Second of all, i also believe that people who are not learned about language-related subjects are likely to have fewer choices in today's world. In some underprivileged countries like Africa, for instance, children are deprived of chances to study foreign languages because this is sometimes prohibitively expensive and beyond what their families manage to afford. As a result, these youngsters would not find a optimum profession, even be unemployable due to high needs of people having ability to know various languages from a large number of corporations. Educational institutions, therefore, should provide more occasions for student to be exposed to the foreign languages, leading to a well-trained workforce in the future.

In conclusion, i totally agree that teenagers should be forced to learn more foreign languages because of its undeniable benefits.