Why You Shouldn't Get Excited on the Golf Course

Maegan O'Neill

Mr. Anderson

English II

9-29-10

Getting Excited on the Golf Course is a Bad Idea

Have you ever been on a golf course? Well, if so, then you're experienced the calm quiet golfers, the beautiful scenery, and the absolute boredom that comes over you after the first hole. There's a very good reason for the serenity expressed by the golfers: as soon as you get excited on the golf course something bad will happen. Anyone who is considering going golfing at some point in their life should definitely remember that showing any extreme emotion can lead to very bad accidents.

"Hey Maegs! Let's go golfing," Connor, my big brother, yelled from the top of the stairs.

"Uhh...I'm only playing like five holes," I replied unenthusiastically.

"Wow. Fine." And off we went in Connor's blue Ford truck down the hill.

By the third hole I was done.

"Con, this is so boring. Why do you even like this sport?"

"Best sport in the world!" he replied with no hesitation. Then we argued back and forth until the next hole on why soccer is better than golf and visa versa. Finally, we came to the last hole that I agreed to play to. I hit my drive off of the tee box and into the bushes. "I hate golf" I muttered for the millionth time that day.

"Hahaha nice try Maegs," Connor said sincerely. As he steped up to the tee, he took a couple of practice swings, carefully placed his club right behind the ball, lifted his driver a couple of inches from the ground and swung. Beautiful drive right down the middle of the fairway. "That's how it's done!" he said in a cocky tone.

"Awesome." I said sarcastically. As we got closer and closer to where I thought my ball was, I started to wonder where it went. It was bright orange so it was really hard to miss. Finally after looking for about 5 minutes I looked up and saw my ball! "What the! Con that squirrel has my ball!" Connor turns around, looks in the tree and starts cracking up.

"That would only happen to you."

"How am I supposed to get it?" I replied, still laughing. Without saying anything, Connor slowly walked up to the tree and stared at the squirrel, waiting to see what it was going to do. Finally the squirrel scrambled down the tree, onto the ground. Of course it didn't take very long for the squirrel to realize that the orange ball wasn't food, so he dropped it. As we looked at each other, still amazed at what just happened, we continued laughing. Then as I put my ball down to hit, I unfortunately was still a little preoccupied on what had just happened so I wasn't paying very much attention to the next shot I was about to take...

"OOOOWWWWW!!!!! WHAT THE HECK!!!" Connor screamed at the top of his lungs (along with some other choice words).

"OH MY GOSH!! I'M SO SORRY CON!" I ran over to him to see if he was okay but I just couldn't hold back a little laugh.

"Does it look like I'm okay?! You just nailed me in the back!"

"I didn't mean to!"

"We are going home." Connor was not happy. The whole car ride home he was either rubbing his back or complaining about how bad of a golfer I was, and how he couldn't believe anyone over the age of 5 would do that. After hours of his complaining, he finally forgave me, but he still makes jokes about how he has to stand 20 feet behind me whenever I'm near a golf ball.

To conclude, showing any kind of extreme emotion on the golf course may not end well. I know from personal experience that being tired and frustrated, and having a squirrel try to eat your ball could possibly end in someone getting hurt. So, if I could give any advice on golf it would be to not play it...but if you really want to, just remember to stay calm, cool and collected.