experience vs. taking advice

Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

The people's belief that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of their family or friends or through personal experience may depend on their personality. I think that how much conservative an individual is, his preference is relied on other's experience. Both choices have different advantages which influence people's life in different ways. I personally prefer to learn from my own experience.

First, since people react differently in different situations, I may do better than other's experience. We are different in our personality, attitude, abilities and so on. So, it's less likely to handle a problem in the same way. For example, my friend advised me not to choose electrical engineering major because the possibility of finding a job for women in this major is small. I didn't take her advice, and now I have a good position in a major company related to this major because my knowledge was comparable with my man colleagues. And so, I could grab a position.

Second, the failure is a bridge toward the success. We shouldn't be frustrated with a bad experience as we learn a lot from our mistakes, and are changed to a stronger and experienced one. We should apply our new experience to the next situations, which can guarantee our success. For example, in the past I had failed in some my relationships, but what I do was that I used my knowledge about people's behavior and personality, and was able to choose a great one as a husband.

Finally, I believe that we should take an opportunity to ourselves to experience different things instead of sticking to other's experience. Otherwise, it may cause a big regret in our life. We may every day imagine that if we had done that, I would have been in a better situation now than am I. Moreover, maybe an experience lead to a mental or physical hurt once, but in the future it is a great memory which we enjoy recalling it instead of regretting not doing it.

In conclusion, experiencing by own let us exploit our opportunities, makes us more experienced, and more independent.