'Experiences, moments, and events all have an impact on our life' - Defining Moment: Paragraph

a moment that has defined who I am

This isn't necessarily an essay. It's one paragraph about a moment that has defined who I am. If any of you guys mind reading this and giving me feedback I would appreciate (this is due tomorrow)

Experiences, moments, and events all have an impact on our life. They can either be the most memorable moments or the most heartbreaking ones. Regardless of how they impact us, it still teaches us important values, lessons and morals. My defining experience was in the year of 2014, around the end of grade eight. You see, I wasn't always the most positive nor the most confident person. After being bullied for three years from the age of nine, the idea of loving and believing in myself suddenly became a foreign language to me. I turned to self-harm at the age of twelve to deal with what I was feeling. Around the month of June 2014, I was in a dance group for my art class and we were practicing at my house on a weekend as my backyard was big. It was very humid, but I had to wear my sister's burgundy McMaster sweater to cover up the cuts on the wrist of my left arm. While we were dancing the left sleeve of my sweater pulled up, revealing a few of the cuts that one of my dance partners, Anish, noticed. The next day, he told the homeroom teacher who talked to me about it. I was then sent to the principal's office and she called my parents after school. When I got home, I remember hearing my mom cry on the phone as she tried to ask me why I cut myself. I was not able to answer because of the tears that continued to pour from my eyes. When she came from work, I went to the family doctor who suggested that I go to the hospital. At the hospital, I talked to a social worker for what seemed like hours and was told that I have an anxiety issue that could be treated by either taking medication or seeing a therapist. I refused to talk to a therapist however, my parents also did not want me to go on medication in case I depended on it whenever I have a panic attack. In the end, I did nothing. I didn't get the help that I needed. But, this significant experience taught me that I needed to learn how to trust my friends, to understand that I am not alone. Without going through this situation, I would not have been closer to the friends I have now. I am proud of how far I have come. To be able to say that I made it this far, I can make it through one more day. Although I can not tell you that I love myself completely, I can tell you that I am trying my best to overcome my inner struggles.