TOEFL: to be an expert in one field is not better than to have broad knowledge of many subjects

Agree or disagree: it is better to have broad knowlege of many academic subjects thant to specialize in one specific subject

As we know, people now face more and more competitions than before .If people want to win in these competitions, they have to spend more time and energy on studying various subjects so that they can keep a favorable position in the society. Consequently, it is better for people to have broad knowledge of different subjects than be the specialist in one subject.

First, people have broad knowledge of different fields can be more competitive than others; especially when people need to protect their jobs. My sister Jane has worked in a big company for 5 years. In 2008, the financial crisis made her boss decide to cut off employees. Some of my sister's friends were dismissed, even though they are experts of computer or mathematics. Fortunately, Jane did not be dismissed. One day, the boss explained to my sister the reason why he did not dismiss her was that she has broad knowledge of different fields. Although she is not the expert of any field, but in this urgent situation; she was the best choice for the company. Hence, my sister's story can prove that people who know different fields of subjects can protect herself more easily than others when the situation is not very good.

Second, each subject is connected with others actually. When you cannot use physical way to solve a problem, the chemical way may help you. Thus, if people have broad knowledge of different subjects, they can solve problems efficiently. My chemical teacher John is the best example to confirm this view. One day I was doing my chemical homework, one question stuck me. Though I tried every way to solve this question, I failed. I had no choice but to find my teacher John. When he saw this problem, he asked me whether I tried the mathematical way to solve it. I was shocked, because this was chemical question not mathematical question, why I could use mathematical way to solve it. He told me that this question is chemical question undoubtedly, but mathematical method could solve it more quickly. Then he taught me how to solve this question. After working out this question, he said that each subject is associated with others; I should learn how to connect them rather than divide them. But the first thing I should do is to learn adequate knowledge to connect them. Therefore, to solve difficulties more easily, it is important for people to have broad knowledge of different subjects.

From what have been discussed above, we may safely draw the conclusion that it is better for people to have broad knowledge of different subjects rather than become the expert in one field.