IELTS: Exploitation of animals is bad!

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic:

A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

You should write at least 250 words.

While some people are of the opinion that animals must be exploited for the needs of humans being such as food, medical research, entertainment and education, others believe that it is important to treat animals in the same way humans are and have similar rights. This essay will discuss both points of view.

With regard to the exploitation of animals, many people think that it is acceptable for several reasons. First and foremost, they think that humans are the most important beings on the planet, and everything must be done to ensure human survival. Therefore, animals are being killed in laboratories as a part of experiment to find cures for diseases. In addition, animals are used for entertainment and education. For example, children can be educated about a wide range of species when they go to a good zoo. In term of this, they will gain great knowledge and background, and subsequently improve as persons.

However, I do not believe these arguments stand up for scrutiny. To begin, it has been shown on numerous occasions by secret filming in laboratories via animal rights groups that animals feel as much pain as humans do, and they suffer when they are kept in cages for long periods. Furthermore, a substantial amount of research is done for cosmetics, not to find cures for diseases, so this is unnecessary. Finally, it has also proven that humans can get all the nutrients and vitamins from green vegetable and fruit. Therefore, killing animals for food is not an adequate argument.

In conclusion, although some argue that killing animals for food and research is ethical, as far as I am concerned, this is not morally acceptable, and serious steps should be taken to improve the rights of animals.