Exploiting tourism is more lucrative than ever to nations galore; some concerns

Article:

Tourism is becoming a good source of revenue to many countries. Discuss the advantages and the disvantages of exploiting this resource.

My Response: 310 words/40 mins.

Nowadays more and more poeple are likely to go travelling and therefore tourism is getting more lucrative than ever to nations galore. While it is undoubtedly true that tourism is beneficial, there are still some concerns as to this field. This essay will look at both these arguments and discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

It is obvious that tourism brings to a nation many benefits. Firstly, owing to tourism industry, lots of new jobs have been created. Indeed,the living standard of those who live and work in travelling ares has been inevitably improved since the appearance of new high-paid carrers as tour guide or souvenir seller. Consequently, more revenue will be derived from travellers, which makes great contribution to not only local but national economy.As an typical example, most of Singapo's revenue have come from tourism-related activities and thanks to that, it is becoming one of the most developed nations in the world. Secondly, by investment for tourism, one's country images are widely broadcasted to the world, which will increase one's country role and influence on global political conferences.

However, There are some drawbacks of tourism. One clear problem is that more and more travellers coming to visit means more risky the enveronment is likely to be. The rubbish exposed by visitors can adversely impact to living environment and as a result to human being's health. Furthermore, tourists could be a source of some serious illnesses. Hundreds of people were dead several years ago due to the wide spread of the disease of SAT, which are caused partially by the travelling of infected passengers though nations. Likewise, terrorists and criminals could easily access a country in the name of tourists.

To conclude, while the disavantages of tourism are certainly understandable, the benefits offered by tourism make it well worthwide. Therefore, In my opinion, its advantages outweigh the drawbacks.