IELTS - Exporting is beneficial to people's well-being as they can afford high quality products

Prompt:

In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other countries. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

My essay:

Nowadays people consume products, ranging from electronic devices to fruits, not only from their home countries but also from the countries that may be at the other end of the world. It is argued whether exporting goods has more disadvantages than advantages. From my perspective, there are more positive impacts.

Importing goods from one country to another yield several benefits. Firstly, despite of the transportation cost, the prices of imported goods, especially those from developing countries, stay competitive. The main reason is that the countries which export the goods have the professional knowledge and skills to ensure high quality and affordability. For example, China is specialised in producing textile products, resulting in lower prices than the local counterparts in many countries. Moreover, importing products have challenged domestic manufactories by encouraging and intensifying the competition, thereby reducing the prices, which benefit the local consumers as it reduces their costs of living.

On the other hand, overly relying on imported goods lead some domestic industries to underdevelopment or even bankruptcy. This is harmful to a self-contained economy and may trigger massive job cuts. Another problem is that long distance transportation causes serious environmental issues such as air pollution, greenhouse gas emissions which eventually lead to global warming.

In conclusion, importing and exporting goods, as a result of globalisation, is an inevitable trend which is beneficial to people's wellbeing as they can afford high quality products at low costs. Meanwhile, domestic industries should work hard to compete with products from other countries all over the world.