[IELTS Task 2] Expressing Ideas by Creative Artists: Freedom and The Role of Government

Creative artist should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music, or film) in whichever way the wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some countries in this world control their artists to express their idea, like North Korea, to strengthen their ideology. In the other hand, some democratic countries let their artists to exhibit their works. By these facts, some people believe that creative artists should express their ideas freely in words, pictures, music, or film and let them do it without government's restrictions. Regarding to this issue, I believe that it is the right way to let them expressing their idea without any limitations.

One of the prominent reason is that expressing idea freely is a form of basic human rights, freedom to speak. This right has been included in many bills around the world. In Indonesia, its constitution has guaranteed the freedom to speak for all Indonesians. By restricting creativity, innovation will be inhibited and development of every aspect will be stuck in the middle. Regarding to these logics, it has been a role of government to preserve human right and they should respect each person's right, especially freedom to speak for creative artists.

Another reason is that expressing ideas can be a tool of controlling governments. Usually, artists get inspiration for their works from the voice of people, trying to expressing what people want from government. In Indonesia, Iwan Fals, a singer, used his songs to shout out the criticisms to Soeharto regime. Pramoedya, a writer, did the same by using his novels. It is believed that these actions can be valued as balancing power of government so that government will not do anything necessary.

To conclude, I personally strongly agree that artist should express their ideas freely without any restrictions from government due to some reasons, such as the basic human right and efforts for balancing the power of government. In addition, we should encourage the actions to be a freer world for any kind of expressions and take actions to fight back the restrictions towards creating creative works.