IELTS; Exterior of buildings is more important than their functions.

Some people think the exterior of buildings is more important than their functions. To what extent do you agree?

These days, as more high-rise buildings have been built. Whether a structure should focus on its exterior or interior has sparked a heated debate, with some individuals perceiving that external appearance is more important than internal function.Nevertheless, others hold an opposite view. From my perspective, it depends on the purpose of the structures.

There is no denying that for a magnificent building, the appearance is vital. The unique aesthetical value embodied by these structures is of the most significance. This architecture is the landmark or a symbol of city and represents the specific cultural ethos, which in turn attracts the tourists from all over the world and raises the sense of national pride for residents. Furthermore, having designed a fascinating masterpiece, which is considered to be a visual feast for artists. The prestige of the architect is likely to be boosted.

Nevertheless, it is a broadly acknowledged that in terms of residential buildings, by only having a gorgeous appearance but lack the practical value, is deemed to be meaningless. More importance should be attached to better the internal function and safety condition. This can be best illustrated by those multi-functional facilities with a high level of securities can cater the most of the needs of the potential purchasers.

In conclusion, the dominant purpose of an architecture is the function or exterior hinges on the type of structures. If it is a piece of art, then more emphasis should be laid on appearance. On the other hand, if the building serves as residential purpose, the interior function deserves due attention.