Is the extinction of individual plant and animal species the main environmental problem today?

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Whether the extinction of individual plant and animal species should be the main environmental problem of our time is debatable. Some people consider this loss of species to be less important than other environmental issues.

It is true that the disappearance of particular flora and fauna can have a detrimental effect on both the ecosystem and human lives. When one species die out, other species in this food chain will be affected considerably. Aside from having less food, the number of some species will increase dramatically while the population of others will reduce. In other words, the ecosystem is no longer in balance when one species become extinct. Furthermore, the next human generation has no opportunity of observing the diversity of our ecosystem as well as witnessing and learning more about certain species because of their extinction.

However, some people believe that the falling number of particular species is just one of Nature's ruthless tests to cross out the weak and keep the fittest. They think that instead of focusing on protecting rare or dying species, we should pay more attention to other important issues such as climate change and pollution. Over the past few years, climate change has resulted in rising sea level that leads to frequent flooding in low areas and the gradual shrinking of habitual land and islands. Apart from that, pollution also affects many aspects of our lives negatively. As a consequence of pollution, food and home become increasingly scarce while human health deteriorate. If the main contributors to these problems take no urgent actions to cease or delay them, there will be no hope for the human future.

Although the loss of certain flora and fauna is detrimental, I believe we should focus more on ceasing climate change and pollution because if they continue, there will be less land and less food for everyone, including animals and plants.

In conclusion, people should pay more attention to other important environmental issues that are more significant than the extinction of particular flora and fauna.