The extinction of languages and how to prevent it - IELTS

write about the following topic:

"Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion"

protecting the variety of languages

Regarding the phenomenon that several languages die out in the past few years, some people consider life may become easy to handle. But for me, the disadvantages of death of several languages far overweight its advantages.

Obviously, languages come to resemble as a result of the steady progress of globalization, and language convergence benefit us a lot in many levels. At personal level, people does not need to master multiple languages any more, consequently easing their burden in time and money, which could be utilized to do something meaningful. In addition, at national level, keeping contact with other countries in economy and culture is increasingly easy, thus our country can give GDP a boost, and even increase the influence toward the international.

In my opinion, we need to put more emphasis on the extinction of some languages, playing an essential role in the development of human society. Firstly, there are popular literatures and drama, expressed in their specific language, whose implication cannot be expressed concisely by other language. Secondly, language has been beyond its definition, existing as one kind of cultural heritage for many years as well as the cumulation of life experience, which could not be replaced by other languages. Last but not the least, all people deeply love their language, and psychological trauma caused by the death of language is beyond our imagination.

In conclusion, every one counts in learning and protecting multiple languages, which can produce a far-reaching impact on us and our offspring.