Extra money for employees' exceptional work - how this management approach is effective?

Rewarding staff members for their commitment

Topic: Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

My task:

It has been the norm that extra money is given to employees as a reward for their great dedication to the company. This practice can give some staffs an impetus to work more efficiently but may also have an adverse influence on others. Ingrained in this essay is the idea that this approach of management can be effective to a certain extent, in conjunction with several methods of incentivising employees to work hard.

being received an accolade for their hard work, especially money is truly a considerable encouragement for the staffs. It is because in the contemporary world, money plays a pivotal role in people's lives. In present day, almost everything can be bought by money. Therefore, some extra money added to the salary is such a big incentive for employees. However, this phenomenon may lead to a hostile environment in the workplace. Those who do not receive any extra money for their work easily have a grudge against others. As a result, the relationship between staffs begins to fade, which results in poor coordination between employees.

In truth, another possible way of encouraging employees to work hard is to allow them to go home earlier than other staff members. It is the reward that has no interwoven connection with finance, hence less ramifications. Besides, allowing employees a longer holiday than usual is also a good method of motivating staffs. It is a more practical action than extra money since all people want to enjoy their holiday as much as possible. It is common knowledge that when we go on a trip, we tend not to return home. Therefore, allowing them a longer holiday not only makes them enjoy themselves more but renders them energetic when returning to work.

In conclusion, giving extra money for members of staff for their diligence can render them show more eternal devotion to work, whereas having a negative effect on others. Due to this fact, managers should take these aforementioned alternatives into account.