IELTS essay: Factors Contributing to Job Satisfaction

Need some feedback.

As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Mostly, whenever people look for a job, they think about their long term future. As such, it becomes imperative for them to find a job which is interesting and fulfilling on a personal level. In other words, they must be satisfied with the job they want to spend their life on.

There are many factors which have impact on the job satisfaction of an employee. Financial security is probably the primary and most important of them all. If a person is not paid adequately so that he can prosper and enjoy life's perks, he will hardly be satisfied with his job.

Secondary factors like, a compatible working environment is essential to the happiness of an employee. Unfriendly colleagues and unnecessary competition often give rise to a hostile atmosphere, resulting in conflicts, reduced performances and depression. The number of working hours also has an effect on the likeability of the job. A person is not likely to enjoy his work if he does not get enough time to spend with his friends and family. Another significant factor is the relevance of the job to the employee's background. Working in a different field to one's educational background may involve several adjustments, which some people may not be comfortable with.

The extent to which workers can expect job satisfaction may depend on the location of their work. Someone from a developed country, like the US or UK would have better financial stability and less competition than workers from developing countries. People from poor countries usually think about the money they will earn rather than how much they will like the work. Secondly, an employed worker from such a country hardly looks for other avenues as laziness or complacency creeps in. There is also fierce competition in overpopulated places, which makes any job seem priceless.

In conclusion, I have to say that job satisfaction is a very important aspect of a worker's life. The factors discussed above can provide it to some level. While the concept of job satisfaction is prevalent in the developed countries, there is still very little scope for expectation in the developing countries.