Ielts task 2: What factors measure country's status.

Economic progress is often used to measure a country's success. However, some people believe that other factors are more important. What other factors should also be considered when measuring a country's success? Do you think one factor is more important than others?

Many experts are used to measure a country's development by its economical state. However, while I believe that economy is important factor, I would argue that there are other equally important spheres that could be used to assess a success.

To begin with, I agree that economy is a key factor, because developed economy can help a country to improve many spheres. But one must admit that a country with a developed economy but with a low quality of education or medicine can never be considered as a successful one. In a country, for instance, where the rights of women are restricted and the democratic principles are not followed might be considered less successful, despite highly developed economical state.

Further and even more importantly, high standards of education are very pivotal, because it is responsible for the quality of the next generation of workers. Secondly, health service should be taken into consideration while defining the status of a country. Finally, equal opportunities for both genders and democratic principles are incredibly pivotal ones too. For example, good health service can attract patients from another countries, which will directly have an impact on economy very positively.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that economy is not the only factor that measures a country's development, as there are other equally important ones such: education, living standards and equal rights.