Factory farming food. Your opinion about what it's better to eat.

IELTS (writing task 2): It is better to eat food which is produced locally by small farmers, rather than food produced by "factory farming" and transported long distances.

Guys, please help me with more sophisticated ideas and grammar as well. Thanks in advance =)

In the age, when wide variety of foods are available, many people prefer consuming food manufactured locally to mass produced, exported food. In this essay I will give my opinion towards this decision.

First of all, products, especially foods produced by a local farmer from a neighborhood are usually fresh, whereas exported goods are always experience a long-distance route, which probably worsens their quality. Quite often, people suffer from low qualitative foods, as a consequence they get ill. This will provoke awareness and people will make sure that they are eating safe and fresh food. Moreover, if to think more specifically, their decision to consume locally produced food can lead to the economic development of that area. Farmers and manufacturers will be encouraged to produce more goods and will have resources to improve the quality.

On the other hand, I think mass-products go through serious inspections, because many people will use these products, and foods are not an exception. Before exporting and receiving "factory farming" foods they test them on safety and check for freshness. Another thing to mention is that foods in enormous amounts are usually cheaper than locally generated ones. As to long distance travel of factory foods, I could say that nowadays, with the implementation of advanced technologies, transporting goods is very unlikely will deteriorate their quality. For example, huge fridges are installed on the trucks and ships, which guarantee the initial appearance of food.

To summarize, I have an impression that buying and eating local foods is good when determining their quality, whereas people with strong consideration about the costs will most probably prefer factory made foods. Besides, products from factory are available all year round.

280 words ( 50minutes )