TOEFL - Factory near your community/ Advantages & Distadvantages

A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support and oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Today, this morning I read an announcement that one of the big Factories is going to be established next to our city in the suburb area. So, I started to think, How could this big factory affect our city positively or negatively?

Starting from the positive points, the first thing came to my mind, establishing a big factory in our community could offer our city population a lot of job opportunity which apparently will decrease the unemployment percentage that my country suffered from; for the recent decade. In addition to solving the unemployment issue, relatively speaking, this factory will contribute and enhance our country economical status and support the income of every individual in my city giving, like the General Motors car manufacturing company in Detroit-Michigan played a very big role in the economic status of that state. So, when this company closed for funding problem the Michigan economical Status has been affected directly and there will a close announcement for Detroit bankruptcy.

On the other hand the disadvantage of having a big factory next to our city, especially if that factory will produce some gases that could be harmful for people's health who live around it. But, that problem could be avoided by studying the location of the factory by specialized people who consider the wind speed, direction and all other harmful aspects that maybe threaten the health of inhabitants who live within a cretin distance .

Finally, I think having a big factory can be advantageous in the cities, which suffer from unemployment and economical problem, if the location and other points were considered appropriately.