ielts: Fair earnings - sports professionals can earn a lot of money

High-Paid Athletes

Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

my answers:

It is true that an athlete can become wealthier through the fame him or her made than professionals in other fields. Although a proportion of people regard it as unjustified, I personally believe that this situation is totally reasonable.

There are two reasons why people see it as an unfair trend. Firstly, athletes do not have to acquire completed subjects such as Math and Science. All they have to do is keep playing basketball or swimming all day long, which can be played or done by anyone. The threshold of entering these fields is low. Secondly, they do not have to deal with a challenging environment. For example, shareholders took large amount of risks to invest in companies and may face difficult situations sometimes which they are not able to avoid or control. Nonetheless, sportlers only need to keep their performance stable, and apart from being influenced by themselves, no other elements can intervene them.

Admittedly, form these perspectives, chances of athletes being rich are larger than other professionals and risks are lower as well. Nevertheless, the athletes who have become famous must have to be talented or even have been spending plenty of time and money on training. Besides, they also need to manage their diets well and sacrifice lots of fun in their lives, maybe also includes the opportunity to spend time with their beloved ones, the chances of being seen by the world is not as large as other people think. They have to attend dozens of competitions and win the gold medals first.

To sum up, although some people think what athletes do is not complicated and do not deserve high salaries, whereas I would argue that all the elements considered, it is only fair that they earn well.