IELTS: Is it fair that sportmen earn far more money than doctors and teachers?

Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Answer:

Nowadays, while some people think that successful professional athletes are deserved to earn more money than people working in other careers like doctors or teachers, others think that it is unjustified. This essay will discuss both of these views.

People think that a higher earning for successful sportmen is fair for some reasons. First of all, they must devote themselves both physically and mentally in order to achieve an excellent result. Training is undoubtedly physical demanding and injuries are also likely to occur, some of which can be fatal. In addition, athletes may feel stressed as they are the representatives of their nations. Another reason for this view is that their high earnings will not last long. As time passes, they cannot stay permanently at the peak of their career, which means that their income will decrease gradually. Moreover, as they spend lots of time practising and coaching, they may fall behind their classmates in terms of academic subjects, which, in turn, results in difficulties in finding another job after they retire.

However, other people argue that it is not fair for who in other important occupations. Firstly, these jobs provide basic needs for people and help to improve the living standard, meaning that they are more essential than sport. In fact, hardly can people have a better life without education or healthcare but they can still live normally without watching sport as it is just a way of entertaining. Furthermore, people working in these fields also need to have intellectural abilities. They have to spend almost as much time as sportmen reading books in the library, doing the assignments and carrying out reseach. Besides, they must focus physically and psychologically to get a flying colours degree and become Masters or PhDs.

In conclusion, I think that sportmen and people like doctors or teachers should have the equal earnings.