Families today are not as close as they used to be, causes and solutions?

With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasingly globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be.

Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

There is no doubt that the rising of divorce rates and family breakdown in the recent times has been one of the hottest sociological debates. Among a variety of reasons for this trend, one widely acknowledged is that it is a direct result of the growing distance between family members. In this essay, I tend to explore the sources of this problem along with some possible solutions to it.

Chief among the causes of this problem is the modern lifestyle. Today's parents have to work harder than those of previous generations to support their families. In the past, one parent assumed the role of breadwinner, whilst the other, typically the mother, acted as the homemaker. Recently, though, the double income families have become the norm. As a consequence, parents are spending less and less time on taking care of their children, the other partner and even his/herself alone. More seriously, many families do not even eat dinner together anymore. Naturally, over the time, the importance of bonds and kinship is gradually shading in our minds. Another equally important reason is that many children have to leave their parents at an early age to study or work elsewhere. As time passes, they become estranged by time and distance.

In order to resolve the sense of alienation within families, I believe we must first address it root causes. As mentioned above, lacking of the time sharing with other family's members is one of the primary reasons of this problem. Therefore, the most effective method of resolving this would be rather than using too much of the time resource to watch TV, search web, or hang out with friends, adult people should, instead, allocate more time to play with their children, help them to review the lessons, read book with them, or just simply have more intimate conversations with them. I firmly believe this method is not only useful for parents to reinforce the bond with their children but also gives them a practical opportunity to supervise and help their children. Beside, for members of families who live away from one another, regular contact of any sort can bring them closer. Take my case as an example, I live and work in Australia while my parents and other family's members are in Vietnam. Before, owing to the expensive expense to call to Vietnam, I could afford to call them few times per month, now along with the development of technology, I can easily and freely talk to my parents using Viber or frequently update information of other family's member through Facebook. Whenever I want to share a lovely photo of my daughter with my parents, I just need to upload them on Facebook and vice verse. Thanks to Facebook that helps to make my family more close-knit irrespectively of the long distance.

In conclusion, my opinion is that growing distance among family's members is a problem of such complexity and that no solution is likely in short term. However, I believe that the measures outlined above would constitute good first steps.