'family, school, and state' - CAUSES OF DROUPOUTS

Actually, this is the introduction for my undergraduate thesis. Please do comment. I'll highly appreciate it!!

The study focuses on causes of dropouts within the university. Variables such as socio-economic status, environment, chosen discipline, unexpected occurrence, performance of the students as well as performance of the school can link this research study to ascertain the remedy of the problem.

Dropout carries different negative notions to us. This occurrence has distinct effects that may connote deprivation of choice and of right to study, feeling rejection or disqualification, and failure by which are caused by various factors.

Data as cited by Mario B. Casayuran of Manila Bulletin issued on last June 4, 2011, according to the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), it shows that the dropout rate is at alarming 83.7 percent, meaning the country is producing 2.13-million college dropouts annually. However, causes of it appear unclear resulting to existence of several researches to verify the standard factors evident among dropout college students.

Poverty is the common root of the infinity of educational problems. Even how much lower the tuition fee is, students cannot evade disregarding the value of education because of the incapacity to finance other basic needs in life aside from educational expenses. In that sense, socio-economic status is undoubtedly affected them vastly. Parents cannot support them. They disengage themselves from the school to prioritize self-working in order to survive.

There are likewise students tend to drop out due on disliking the chosen discipline. This may be preceded through parents' choice and substandard grades to take the course interested. Although they accept it, it is bitter for them that, as they are taking it, they choose to drop out in the latter. A situation like this impels to develop sense of enthusiasm beyond learning, instead inclines on the growing lists of dropout students.

In teaching-learning process, motivation is very vital, along other positive environmental factors affecting the students' willingness and the completion of their studies. Of all variables, environment is really a big thing. Students are needed to be highly motivated by the environment, either be influenced intrinsically or extrinsically. Intrinsic as well as extrinsic factors affect widely the students' performance. Certain results such as poor grades, untoward behaviors, boredom, and consistent absences are impacts that may be brought by inappropriate offering of classroom environment. Facilities, methods and strategies of teaching, classroom management and setups provide important effects for students be motivated and discouraged the causes of dropouts to take place over themselves.

Students' performance upon getting unqualified grades to move on through the next level may be of cause by the result achieved during the assessment or by untoward behavior. In this case, possibility of dropout may be the effect. There is somehow prerogative to retake the subject if ever got failed, but most cases they let them be dragged by feeling of being exhausted and just accept the occurrence.

Classroom environment is a place where the teachers must have a high teaching devotion in motivating their students. Boredom begins because there is lack of motivation usage. As a result, students rather spend most of their time mingling with friends and colleagues. This is also makes them fond of doing trifling things that ignore substantially valuing education.

Services that the school can fully give is somewhat that the students' reason of dropping out. Practicality exists upon them just to benefit good and high quality of education, coziness, and assurance to have a fulfilling job ahead.

As an addition, factors that are "unexpected", for instance, pregnancy among women, penetration of married world, transfer of place farther enough from the institution, and severe injury, may end to an abrupt defer of studying or rather may leave the school.

To conclude, with all these causes, mere finding them out is not enough to impede students be disengaged from school. In fact, there is no accurate solution that is tested already. But the family, the school, and the state can end up this predicament. They have significant roles to secure the welfare and future of the students. However, all these recommendations would be useless if there is no expected adequate budget. As an alternative way, parents must acquire determination and in spite of poverty, students need their invigorations and encouragement, their moral guidance toward taking the right path. Moreover, teachers, having different roles, can influence the missions and visions of the students. They must be inspiring, considered the negative effects of boredom, and built a strong relationship to them. Most of all make effective motivations by giving to them reasons to strive and to succeed.