(IELTS WRITING TASK 2) Famous for being famous

Topic:

Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for the achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world where celebrity culture is pervasive and slowly becoming the norm in highly developed metropolitan areas, there is a phenomenon, decried by traditionalists as "superficial and harmful", that is "famous for being famous". In other words, this means the state of being well-known, sometimes internationally, not for one's accomplishments but for publicity stunts and associations with the celebrity world. Personally, I have a balanced and nuanced view on whether this has a negative influence on younger generations.

First and foremost, being famous for one's glamour, wealth and personal connections might overemphasize the importance of one's outward appearance over inner strengths and talents. This can lead people astray as beauty fades and one's contributions to the society are what truly last and make an impact. Moreover, to always maintain a presentable exterior, portray a larger-than-life personality and lead a lavish lifestyle requires a lot of resources which are usually not sustainable and accessible to the aspiring youngsters. Therefore, the extra borrowing to cover the costs might plunge these individuals into financial and emotional distress.

However, celebrity status, regardless of whether that comes from achievements or stunts, does confer benefits to holders of such status and is indicative of the greater, overarching society. It is common knowledge that viral Instagrammers or Hollywood socialites are now earning 6-figure amounts for each post on social media. In addition, the fame and social connections which follow, more often than not, compensate for the initial investments and bring long-term non-monetary benefits, such as finding a wealthy spouse or wielding political power. These unsaid and unwritten bonuses are also driving forces behind the celebrity culture in many economic, financial and cultural centers of the world today.

In summary, I believe that the state of being a celebrity, even without personal excellence, provides tremendous benefits for status holders. This explains the current trend of "famous for being famous" that is prevalent across social media and global metropolises.