TOEFL: The famous adage 'No pain, no gain' is by far the most logical expression I have ever heard.

Hello everyone! I have another essay that I am counting on you to revise! Thanks in advance and the past for continuing helping me out! I have my TOEFL exam tomorrow so wish me luck!

I just hope they don't ask personal topics like this... I mean what does this topic really prove? Lolz, I really don't get it

Topic:Agree or disagree: Letting a friend make a mistake is better than taking action that risks destroying a friendship.

The famous adage 'No pain, no gain' is by far the most logical expression I have ever heard. We fall when we try to walk for the first time as toddlers but nevertheless, we always get up and try again continuously. Through this process, we learn how to maintain balance and if we fall again, we avoid the methods that will make us fall. Therefore, I would stand still for my friend to make a mistake because as mentioned before, I believe mistakes teaches better than anything and if I try to intervene, my relationship will be destroyed.

Mistakes are never the enemy. It should never be despised, let alone be ignored, when you live your life. We, as human beings, live our lives making mistakes and compensating for it constantly. We learn why studying is important after failing a test with shame and lament, not because our parents reprimand us irritably from the score. In effect, mistakes force us to face reality and give us another opportunity to take responsibility and perform much better the next time. When I was young, my younger sister had broken a luxurious vase our mother much adored when she was running around the house. She was afraid, dreading the ominous consequence that could result with a slight spank on her bottom, and asked me to take part of the blame so that her consequence will be more lenient. I disagreed not because I didn't want the consequences myself but because the image of my sister not owing up to her mistakes was shameful and disrespectful. I told her I cannot take the blame for her but I promised her that I will comfort her after her punishment. After the uproar of lectures about being careful in the house, my sister thanked me because she would have felt awful for letting me take the blame as well. As anyone can see, mistakes are not to be feared but helpful in creating a stronger self-conscious and respect. Thus, I would let my friend make a mistake without interfering but I would definitely comfort him just like I did to my sister.

On the other hand, if I try to intervene and prevent him from his blunder, not only will our friendship deter, but I will regret doing so. Personally, I treasure my friendship next to my family. Friendship is the bond that links two people as they go on their journey towards life. To lose that link, a trustful friend who will cover your back, will result a discord in my, anyone's life. As a result, I will stray from my path and turn bitter with regret and hatred at myself for destroying that relationship. This reminds me of a book I have read recently about two friends as doctors treating on a severely injured patient. The main character notices a flaw in his friends operation and points out his mistake in front of all the other surgeons. Abashed by his mistake, the friend leaves the hospital and never comes back due to shame and embarrassment. The main character regrets his decision because before he is a doctor, he was his friend and he has jeopardized that relationship. As a person who regards his relationships most precious, I would never risk the destruction of my friendship even if that leads to his shame because I'll be providing support to ameliorate his sadness.

To simplify, I would let a friend make his mistake instead of risking our relationship because I strongly think mistakes teaches the victim important lessons and because I treasure my relationship with my friends. If I were to stop him from making his mistake I would regret it forever until I die. (619)----> I did manage to write a 600 word essay in 30 minutes but I think it's because the topic was very personal so I think the words just flew off my mind. Still let me know if I digressed too much. Thanks again!