Task 2 IELTS famous brand purchase tendency

More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

the "brand effect"

In recent years, there has been a discernibly growing tendency to purchase products of well-known brands around the world. This essay will help shed a light on the reasons behind this phenomenon and draw a personal conclusion about whether it is a good or bad one.

There are two underlying explanations for mass need of famous brand items. The first reason is due to the extravagant public advertising of these brands. By virtue of having a stable economic foundation, these companies are able to direct large expenditure on hiring celebrities, television commercials, ... which may stimulate herd mentality and snob effects. By way of illustration, a product which turns out to be utilized by an idol would soon be sold out owing to excessive purchases from his fans. Furthermore, modern generations by nature always thrive for recognition. They tend to believe that possessing these products could make them fashionable and popular amongst their peers.

Although people hold various viewpoints about this phenomenon, I am of the opinion that this is a bad trend. Affording these renowned brand products often requires an enormous expenditure. This means that people are encouraged to squander their money which should be spent on more important circumstances. Moreover, from a perspective of economics, this trend also deprives infant start-ups of the chance to gain popularity.

In conclusion, more and more renowned brand purchases results from excessive advertising of the company and mass desire for recognition. In light of aforementioned points, it is my firm belief that this is a bad phenomenon which has repercussions for not only each individual but also the whole economy.