'fast, convenient and flexible approaching' - IELTS Task 2 - Discuss the aspects of online shopping.

Title: We are seeing a significant increase in online shopping today. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

My answer:

As of now, online shopping has become one of the most popular ways to make purchases due to the immeasurable growth of Internet services. However, this is not indeed a comfortable doing for everyone. As with most things, online shopping has positives and negatives associated with. Within this paper, I will discuss the both sides of this trend with some relevant examples.

The foremost advantage of online shopping is its convenience. With the 24/7 availability and effective processing order, online retailers let people purchase from any location, at any time using Internet- connected computer, tablet device or such. Further, online stores give one an opportunity to compare offerings and pricing at different stores with few clicks rather than having to spend his precious time and hard-earned fuel running from one store to another to see what stores carry what product lines and how much each one is charging. In fact, there are several web sites, such as Google Shopping and Nextag, featuring helpful comparison engine to narrow down the best deals on your items. Some shopping sites even offer an extensive product mixes with a variety of selections. For example, if you live in the place where snow is rare, you are unlikely to find much of snow equipment in local stores, while a plentiful of selections is available online.

Though spectacular it may sound, online shopping has some built-in drawbacks. The shoppers lose the tactile experience - the act of touch and feel the items they are considering buying. This is especially important with clothing, pillows, rugs, carpets and other textile-based stuffs which are hard to gauge quality without hand-on contacts. Another problem associated is returning. Returning merchandise might be a costly and prolonged process, depends on buyer's location and return policies. Another concern is online security when making purchase. Expect for those trustful e-tailers, such as Amazon or Shopify, one might not feel confident when dealing with the unknown online stores: the fear of personal information being exposed; product does not qualify as expected, or even never arrives.

To sum up, online purchasing means a fast, convenient and flexible approaching, while exist the lack of firsthand experience and feasible risks. Knowing the advantages and disadvantages of this method so you can make the wisest, most informed decisions on what you are doing.