IELTS ....Fast Food is becoming more popular?

Hi

I wrote this essay while practicing for IELTS. I used this topic from a samples website, but the content is written by me (not a word copied from anywhere).

Please help in evaluating my essay. Thanks :)

Essay topic:

Even though doctors all over the world agree that fast food is bad for people's health, more and more people are eating it. Why are more people eating fast food? What can be done about this problem?

Essay:

Around the world, millions of people suffer from numerous problems because of fast food. The numbers are increasing at an alarming rate. A strict and immediate action is required to help prevent further spread.

To begin with, today's fast paced life style is the main reason behind people resorting to fast food. Most of the couples stay in nuclear families these days. With both partners working, preparing food at home becomes cumbersome so fast food seems becomes an easy option. Due to the same reason, more and more kids are driven to fast food.

Moreover, fast food companies use misleading marketing lures kids and adults into eating fast food. The vendors provide vague information or hide important facts and highlight the taste and aroma to make their product look exciting. It's very common to see advertisements highlighting "No Trans Fat" to make a sachet of fries look healthy, whereas the amount of saturated fat is only mentioned in fine print on the back of the packet.

The only way to tackle this problem is with education, restriction and prevention. It should be mandatory for every fast food peddler to put a clear disclaimer warning about potential heart problems it can cause. Free camps should be implemented by the local government to warn people about the ill-effects and help those already suffering from obesity and heart disorder. Government should make subsidized healthy food available at educational institutes. Furthermore, it should be made illegal to sell certain fast foods to a child below certain age if he is not accompanied by an adult.

To sum up, the growing problem of obesity and fast food addiction needs immediate attention. Serious thought and a strict action plan to educate and alert people will help get a handle on the issue.