Some feel international tourism is a positive trend, while others do not. What are your opinions?

evaluation of overseas travelling trend

With the rapid growth of technologies and global market development, worldwide travelling has not been so accessible than before. Despite it is profoundly beneficial for those desire to explore the world, it is also a controversial argument that drawbacks can be seen as a result of unnecessarily frequent travel. Personally I believe negative impacts brought up by international journey outweigh its benefits.

First of all, due to the dramatic drop of travelling cost on airfare and accommodation, overseas visits are more feasible nowadays which effectively accelerate worldwide economic growth. However, excessive travels may also result in unhealthy development of certain markets. We can observe all over the globe that popular cities over relay on tourists related businesses and undermine the market diversity. One obvious example is the streets of Hong Kong overloaded with pharmacies and souvenir shops. The overall market environment becomes increasingly difficult for other businesses. At the end the city will suffer from the monotonous development and lose the attraction.

Further and even more importantly, one of the largest fossil fuel consumptions in the world is airlines business. It is believed that uncontrolled global trips should take a critical responsibility in our environmental pollution. Imagine how luxury it is for a weekend trip decades ago, yet it is now affordable almost for everyone with low cost flights and AirBnB. With the extra help of internet, travel lovers can even lockdown their journey solely at their fingertips. This is the reason why scientists attribute this overwhelming travel trend to the irreversible damage to our planet.

In conclusion, overseas travelling is an irresistible trend for the majority which also helps in globalization. On the other hand, yet, I agree the trend also leads to more serious damages on our cultural and natural environments. It is important for all humility to get an optimal balance between economic development and environmental responsibilities.