IELTS Task 2 : Do You Feel Lonely When You Live In An Apartment?

Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those who live in houses.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Several persons believe that an inhabitant will feel lonely if they live in a tall condominium, because there is just a little of togetherness in the society of condominium. Whereas other people believe that the residents of tall flat have better togetherness among the neighborhood than the individuals who live in home. This essay will discuss both points of view.

There is an argument why mankind has much better sense of community to live in the apartments. In my opinion, every management apartment building always offers their prestigious facilities, so the inhabitant will not feel lonely. They can utilize amenities to entertain themselves. For example, an apartment usually provides a fitness center, jogging track, swimming pool, and shopping center. Then, the inhabitants will meet their neighbors and make a community in there. It is workable, because they meet with the same hobby and interest.

In contrast, I do not think that the statements are totally true. There are also some reasons why the citizens feel lonely when they live in an apartment. Firstly, sometimes number of inhabitants were transient renters and they just rent for a year or a half year. So, every residents do not care with their neighbors, because they think they just for a while live in that building. Secondly, the design of rooms in the apartment is closed from each others, so the occupants are difficult to make a conversation or address their neighbors.

To conclude, although some citizens argue that residents who stay in a condominium will not feel lonely, I would say that living in there is a lonely experience and suggest to live in a house, because human beings will feel a togetherness atmosphere in their neighborhood.